Yes, the busy-ness has captured me. I am working on an entry right now about Triassic reptile trackways in Germany, but it’s going to take some time and I don’t want to screw it up by rushing. So I will try to get that to you tomorrow, and in the meantime you can stop by Catalogue of Organisms to read about aquatic sloths (!!), Tetrapod Zoology to read about crested porcupines, and test your knowledge of evolutionary relationships at Bayblab (discovered by way of Sandwalk).

I think the Bayblab quiz is a good example of some of the tendencies that we have that I mentioned in my entry on understanding evolutionary trees. Appearances can be deceptive–if we get tricked into thinking of evolution as a linear process rather than branching, we might classify some apparently simple creatures as distantly related that are actually just on the next branch over.

